## Tom Green County Bail Bond Board Wednesday November 15, 2023 @ 11:00AM Commissioner's Court Room

## **MINUTES**

The Tom Green County Bail Bond Board met on Wednesday, November 15, 2023 in the County Commissioner's court room.

Item Number 1 was to call the meeting to order and the determination of a quorum. Board Chair Dianna Spieker called the meeting to order at 11:02AM and Board Secretary Louie Perez took roll and then acknowledged that a quorum was present.

Item Number 2 was the Consent Agenda. This consisted of the Minutes from the October 18, 2023 meeting and the Bond Issuance Monthly Report. Christina Ubando made a motion to approve said item. Ashley Knight seconded the motion. A vote was taken and the motion passed.

Item Number 3 was to consider any renewal/new bail bond applications within the 30-day window. There were none at this time.

Item Number 4 was to consider bail bond audits. Santa Angela Bail Bonds was audited on or about October 19, 2023. Angelo Bail Bonds was audited on or about November 2, 2023. Jaime Vance informed the board that both companies were in compliance and there were no issues. Anthony Monico made a motion to approve. Ashley Knight seconded the motion. A vote was taken and the motion passed.

Item Number 5 was to consider the election results. The votes for the Bondsmen Representative were counted by Christina Ubando and Jennifer Englert. The Criminal Attorney Representative votes were counted by Anthony Monico and Jaime Vance. Chairwoman Dianna Spieker announced that Louie A. Perez won the election for Bail Bond Board Representative and Mr. Jason Sosa won for Criminal Attorney Representative. Anthony Monico made a motion to approve. Ashley Knight seconded the motion. A vote was taken and the motion passed. Anthony Monico destroyed all the ballots after the motion carried.

Item Number 6 was to accept the designees for the 2024 Board Members. The forms were filled out by the appropriate Board Members and signed. All members and designees are filed accordingly with the Board.

Item Number 7 was to consider a briefing from the bail bond companies. None at this time.

Item Number 8 was Release of Collateral for Louie Perez Bail Bonds. Under License No. 11-13, Louie Perez Bail Bonds, all outstanding bail bonds have been officially closed and disposed of. Thus, the Certificate of Deposit on file can be returned to its original owner. Judge Lane Carter made a motion to release the collateral. Anthony Monico seconded the motion. Louie Perez abstained from the vote to avoid any conflict of interest. Motion carried.

Item Number 9 was Election of Board Officers. The slate of board officers for 2024 will be:

Chair: Dianna Spieker
Vice-Chair: Anthony Monico
Secretary: Louie Perez

A motion was made by Judge Lane Carter to accept the slate of officers as presented. Jana Johnson seconded the motion. A vote was taken and the motion passed.

Item Number 10 was Public Comment. There was none at this time.

Item Number 11 was Future Agenda Items. The annual fiscal report will need to be compiled to put on the record at the next meeting. Also, committee assignments will need to be done at the next meeting as well.

Item Number 11 is the Next Meeting Date. The next required meeting will be on January 17, 2024.

Item Number 12 was Adjournment. Dianna adjourned the meeting at 11:18 AM.

These minutes were prepared by Louis A. Perez.

Louis A. Perez

Tom Green Bail Bond Board Secretary

## **ATTENDANCE REPORT**

## Members Present:

	Dianna Spieker	County Treasurer
√	Anthony Monico	District Clerk
	Louis Perez	Licensed Bail Bondsman
	Christina Ubando	County Clerk
	Judge Jay Weatherby	District Judge
	Lt. William Fiveash	Sheriff Representative
√	Judge Lane Carter	County Judge
	Judge Susan Werner	Justice of the Peace Judge
	Judge Jay Daniel	Municipal Court Judge
	Joe Losoya	County Courts at Law Representative
	Ashley Knight	District Attorney Representative
	Richard Villarreal	District Attorney Representative
√	_ Jana Johnson	Criminal Defense Attorney Representative
Non-Voting Members		

**Guests Present:** 

Jay Mohler

Jamie Vance

Jennifer Englert